Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## The Bank of East Asia, Limited

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability in 1918) (Stock Code: 23)

## **GRANT OF SHARE OPTIONS**

On 6<sup>th</sup> July, 2010, the Bank granted 5,950,000 share options to subscribe for Shares to certain Eligible Persons (as defined in the rules of the Scheme), out of which 2,000,000 share options were granted to the Chief Executive of the Bank.

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 17.06A of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The board of directors of The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "Bank") announces that on 6<sup>th</sup> July, 2010, the Bank granted 5,950,000 share options to subscribe for ordinary shares of HK\$2.50 each of the Bank ("Shares") under its Staff Share Option Scheme adopted on 12<sup>th</sup> April, 2007 (the "Scheme") to certain Eligible Persons (as defined in the rules of the Scheme). Details of such grant are set out below:

Date of grant : 6<sup>th</sup> July, 2010

Exercise price of share options granted : HK\$28.49 per Share

Number of share options granted : 5.950,000

Closing price of the Shares on the date of grant : HK\$28.25 per Share

Validity period of the share options : Exercisable from 6<sup>th</sup> July, 2011

to 6<sup>th</sup> July, 2015

Out of the 5,950,000 share options, 2,000,000 share options were granted to Dr. The Hon. Sir David Li Kwok-po as Chief Executive of the Bank. The granting of the share options to the Chief Executive was approved by all the Independent Non-executive Directors of the Bank.

By Order of the Board Alson LAW Chun-tak Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 6<sup>th</sup> July, 2010.

As at the date of this announcement, the Executive Director of the Bank is: Dr. The Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po (Chairman & Chief Executive); Non-executive Directors of the Bank are: Professor Arthur LI Kwok-cheung (Deputy Chairman), Mr. Aubrey LI Kwok-sing, Dr. William MONG Man-wai, Tan Sri Dr. KHOO Kay-peng, Mr. Richard LI Tzar-kai, Mr. Eric LI Fook-chuen, Mr. Stephen Charles LI Kwok-Sze and Dr. Isidro FAINÉ CASAS; and Independent Non-executive Directors are: Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun(Deputy Chairman), Mr. WONG Chung-hin, Dr. LEE Shau-kee, Mr. Winston LO Yau-lai, Mr. Thomas KWOK Ping-kwong, Mr. Kenneth LO Chin-ming, Mr. William DOO Wai-hoi, Mr. KUOK Khoon-ean and Mr. Valiant CHEUNG Kin-piu.